Wade’s Basement Media Film Festival Entry

by

This experimental music video was part of my creative portfolio for applying to graduate school.  Besides admissions, I have never shown it to anyone except my co-creator Sean. I would appreciate it if you could look through my video description and let me know of any edits that you think I should make. I’m not going to change the video at all at this point but feel free to critique it.  I may come back to it someday.

ONE-SENTENCE SUMMARY:

How you feel is a music video that takes a cliché Rock heroin overdose and remixes it with Dante’s Purgatory to create a new enlightened perspective.

MULTIPLE-SENTENCE DESCRIPTION:

Inspired by and timed to the music of Sean Morceau, How You Feel is a homage to Dante’s Purgatory.  This homage is seen in both the content and the making of How You Feel. In terms of content, the cliché Rock heroin overdose is remixed with the journey through Purgatory. In terms of the making, the process was akin to how Dante wrote the Divine Comedy in Italian and not Latin. At the time of publication, Italian was seen as a “vulgar” language of the masses- it was consumer grade.  How You Feel was made with cheap consumer grade cameras. Including one that was built out of a scanner bought from a thrift store.

Leave a Reply

